Tag: Tips & Tricks

Are all prepared for “Modern Experience”?

01-15-2019 Chris McNulty published Delivering SharePoint modern experiences on The SharePoint Community blog.

Today it is 03-28-2019 and Monday coming week will be the “big date” 04-01-2019 when the roll out starts.

In other words, whether you are a “prepper” or not, Now it is getting a little hurry for those of you who have not yet checked how you might be affected by this update. Maybe time to roll up your sleeves and take a look at your SharePoint sites and not least inform your users about the upcoming change.

What should you do now?

  • Read the article “Delivering SharePoint modern experiences” to see what options You have.
  • Identify the impact
  • Disable modern experience for specific site collections (but only If You need to)
  • Inform the users so that they understand the difference between Classic and Modern.
  • Last but not least: Embrace the “Modern Experience” and the improvements it brings.

Has a channel been deleted from your Team? Don’t worry, this is how you easily recreate it!

Sometimes it goes a little too fast in the turns and some quick-fingered person does something he regrets. In such situations, it is nice to be able to restore the order so that everything becomes peace and joy again. With regard to Channels in Microsoft Teams, it is, thankfully, almost as easy to recreate the deleted Channels as it was to delete them.

sympathy-1942353_1920
Do not worry. We’ll fix this!

This is how it works!

In the channel we have both files and conversations

1 Before Deletion Files
Files and Folders in the Channel
2 Before Deletion Conversations
Conversations in the Channel

 

To delete a channel, just click on the three dots and select “Delete this channel”.

3 Delete the Channel
How to delete a channel

 

Before the channel is deleted you will be met by a question where you have to confirm that you really want to delete. It also shows information about where to find the files in SharePoint (the files will not be physically deleted even though the channel is deleted).
When you now select “Delete”, the channel is deleted from the team and you will no longer see the conversations or files you had in the channel.

4 Confirm Deletion
Here you confirm the deletion or cancel. After all, it’s not that easy to delete a channel “by mistake”. (If anyone, supposedly, should claim it was made by mistake ūüôā )

 

businessman-3036181_1920OK, the “accident” has been up and the channel has been deleted. Suddenly the panic spreads, you get messages, emails and phone calls from troubled team members telling you that lots of information has disappeared from the team and they need this information NOW.

 

silhouette-2402991_1920

What are you doing now? Well, you can lean back in your comfortable office chair and tell them they can be completely calm and that you solve it immediately. Then You…

 

 

 

 

Click on the three dots to the right of the team name and select “Manage team”.

5 Manage Team

 

Click on the tab “Channels” in the overview and then click on the header/category “Deleted”.¬†Have you seen? There is actually the deleted channel that everyone thought was gone. To the right of it is an icon and the text “Restore”. Now click on “Restore”.

6 Restore The Channel
Restore the deleted channel

You will be asked to confirm the action. Here you click on the button “Restore”.

7 Confirm Restore
Confirm restore

Faster than the speed of light (a little exaggerated perhaps but very fast in any case), you have now recreated the deleted channel and it is fully visible (and useful) in the team again.

8 Files are Back
All the files and folders are back
9 Conversations are Back
and the conversations are back

You can now inform your colleagues that everything is resolved. The immediate reaction should be very positive

children-593313_1920

Sometimes it is not so much needed to get happy colleagues and create value for your organization. Hopefully it will make you a hero for a day sometime in the future.

super-woman-1885016_1920

 

 

Simplify your work by using filtered views in the new Microsoft 365 Roadmap to focus on the updates of your core area

Are you one of the “chosen ones” with responsibility to keep track of changes in one or more services in Office 365? Congratulations, then your job has just become a little easier. With the new “Microsoft 365 Roadmap” it is now much easier to create filtered views that show the updates that are relevant to you.

As you may have read in my previous posts regarding “Office 365 Governance“, I use Microsoft Teams to get an overview of updates as well as structuring governance plans. I have a Team where each service has its own channel. In the channel of each service, I have (among other things) a tab that shows the “Office 365 roadmap” in a view that I have filtered to show updates only for the current service.

Now, when the new “Microsoft 365 Roadmap” was launched, of course, my previous home-made filtered views were broken. Sometimes this type of change causes some degree of irritation but this time it was only positive. The filtration capabilities of the Microsoft 365 Roadmap are much better than they were in the Office 365 Roadmap.

So now I’m sitting here, sipping a cup of coffee, creating new filtered views and updating my tabs.¬†Below is an example of how easy you can create a filtered view that shows the updates for the service “Microsoft Teams” and how you embed the filtered view in a tab of a channel in your “Office 365 Governance Team”.

Open the Microsoft 365 Roadmap

1 M365Roadmap
Filter on the service “Microsoft Teams” and status “In development” and “Rolling out”.

2 FilterTheView

Copy the url of the view

3 CopyTheUrl

Open Your Office 365 Governance Team, go to the channel of the service and edit the url of the Roadmap tab.

4 OpenTeamsAndEditUrl

The filtered view in the roadmap tab is now only displaying updates for the current service and you do not have to view the updates of the services that you are not responsible for. This saves you from unnecessary noise that could otherwise steal your focus from your core area.

5 FilteredRoadmapInTab

Now, repeat this exercise and update the “Roadmap tabs” for the channels of the other services.

Do you want to be disturbed (but only by some people)?

When you work in Microsoft Teams and your status is set to “do not disturb”, it’s logical that you will not receive any notifications. However, there is a feature that allows you to override this feature.

Despite the status “Do not disturb” you can receive notifications from specific (and extra important) people, such as your boss.

Here’s how to do it

  1. Click on your profile picture
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on Privacy
  4. Click on the button “Manage priority access
  5. Add those people who shall be entitled to disturb you even if your status is “do not disturb”.

That¬īs it!

Where to find quick answers to questions about Microsoft Teams

Have you ever experienced challenges and problems with Microsoft Teams and had difficulties finding a solution quickly? Perhaps you have had questions about functionality that your nearest network contacts have not been able to answer?

A good source of knowledge that is constantly updated with the most common, and most well-known issues, are “Known Issues for Microsoft Teams.” If you do not immediately find the right answer there, you can always proceed to Microsoft Tech Community and search for answers and/or ask a question that reaches to thousands of active contributors, and you’ll probably get the solution quickly.